European commission

The commission is composed of the college of commissioners of 28 members, including the president and vice-presidents.

The Commissioners act in the interest of the European Union as a whole rather than the interests of individual countries.

Each Member state has one Commissioner and they are appointed for five years. They are put forward by the government of their country but approved by the European Parliament. The Commissioners have expert advice on hand from lawyers and translators.

Each Commissioner heads a department with special responsibility for a specific area of the European Policy.

The Commission proposes new law for the EU as a whole and once agreed their proposals go to the European Parliament and the Council of the European Union.

The Commission endeavours to ensure the implementation of the Treaties and is able to bring court action against any of the Member States who are found not to be complying with EU law.

European Commission

The European Commission Representation in the United Kingdom

Interactive EU crossword

European commission | World news | The Guardian

Related Items

The items below list this as being related in some way.

Amazon's recommended Books

RSS Feeds